Question Deflection

Posted: November 10, 2009 in Mentalism

Have you ever asked someone a question, and then had it repeated back to you? Or had them asking why you’d accuse them of such a thing? This is typical of deflecting a question. People do this to bide them time to make something up or work out something. I remember in Maths whenever I was talking to a friend and suddenly the teacher would ask me a question, I’d repeat the question back while quickly scanning both the board, and my mind to think of something that would hopefully be along the right lines, now obviously I wouldn’t have been making up a lie, but its the same principle.

Just say I asked someone something like “There was £10 here earlier, did you take it” they might reply

“£10? I thought I saw that there earlier actually”

This is a typical deflector, why would they need to tell you that they had seen it previously before? Thats absolutely no use to you since you want to know where it is now, so already they’re showing signs of deception because they’re telling you pointless information, and they still haven’t answered the question directly. Someone who is honest will usually opt for a simple “No, I haven’t seen it sorry” which answers the question, whilst someone who may have taken the money would fail to answer the question first time around, and used deflection so they have more time to think of something to say.

This is a good thing to know, when you’ve seen other signs and you do come to confront someone about it.

Comments
  1. Chri$$ says:

    My partner Sean does this all the time.

  2. Ross buckley says:

    is useful that see it quite a bit

Leave a Reply

