Why Become a Mentalist?

Posted: May 2, 2010 in Mentalism

I’ve written quite a few articles giving you tips on how you can improve your skills in reading Body Language, Manipulating people and various other subjects, but why? What does being able to do these things allow you to do? How do YOU benefit from them? I got to thinking, and wondered how having these skills has benefited me, and these are what I’ve managed to come up with.

Advantages

You can see whether someone is uncomfortable around you, and you can do your best to change this by changing what you’re talking about and changing to more positive body language.

  • You can tell whether someone agrees or disagrees with what you’re saying simply by looking at their body language.
  • I can now win a game of chess, by seeing a confidence in my opponents body language when I touch a certain chess piece.
  • You can tell if someone is attracted to you
  • You can help people overcome emotional distress with the right wording
  • You can manipulate people into doing what you want them to do
  • You can manipulate someone into being happier, through the art of mirroring and hidden hypnotic suggestions
  • It’s easy to spot when someone is being dishonest about something that might be important
  • You can have fun with your friends, and new people by Cold Reading them and appearing to know every little detail about them
  • You can easily tell when someone is upset, and whether someone is approachable to talk to.
  • Impress your friends and new people you meet with your apparent psychic powers.

Disadvantages

  • You can see whether someone is lying to you or not
  • It’s easy to tell what people REALLY think of you, if you discover they don’t like you, you might be hurt
  • You discover how many people actually lie to each other
  • You see things that you might not wish to learn.

These are just a couple of positive things that I could come up with for the time being.

Comments
  1. rito says:

    hi i was wondering where i could learn some of these?? i
    dont care how long it takes i really want to learn how to do these
    things.

  2. Dear David,
    As you have started your own blog, which had a lot of regular content input I was wondering whether you have done some research in the subject.
    It would be great if you could possibly email someone who is just new to the subject.
    I would truly appreciate any information you could give me regarding where I could learn some of these skills!
    Hope the blog is still alive.
    Have a great day,
    Robin

  3. Jon says:

    Hey Daniel. So how do we actually become a mentalist? Reading books and stuff? I have always wanted to become one ever since I came across the show Mentalist and I am very interested to learn the stuff that he does. But everytime I try there doesn’t seem to have enough information to practice and train specific techniques, for example cold reading.

  4. jules says:

    I want to become a mentalist, and can you tell me how become mentalist as in how to do those things you put as advantages please? and my email is pouchy15@yahoo.com

  5. Doug Kevilus says:

    There is another couple of disadvantages that I’ve experienced from being a mentalist. First one is that sometimes people are afraid to be themselves around you, for fear that you might reveal something embarrassing about them. Secondly, sometimes other people are just afraid of you because they don’t understand how we do what we do.

    • Daniel Smith says:

      That’s a good one. I’ve noticed people calling me “Mysterious” and often when I talk to someone I’ve just met and I start cold reading them, or something like that, one of my friends will say “stop messing with her head” which often puts some worry into them

Leave a Reply

